25
Jul
09

councillor’s mental health problems put to good use

'Councillor Potts uses his own mental health experiences to help himself'

'Councillor Potts uses his own mental health experiences to help himself'

Cleadon and East Boldon councillor David Potts who has a history of mental illness is hoping he can use his own experiences to change people’s perception of mental illness.

Councillor Potts, who is till trying to get his life in order after being detained under section 4 of the Mental Health Act following his deselection as the prospective Conservative Parliamentary candidate in the Labour held Edinburgh South constituency at the next General Election, is now backing a national campaign to get a section of the Mental Health Act, which states an MP can never sit in Parliament if they suffer a nervous breakdown while in office, changed.

Under Section 141 of the Mental Health Act 1983, an MP automatically loses their seat if detained under the Act for a period of 6 months or more.

He said: “how can this be fair? Basically what this says to people is, if like me, you’ve suffered from a mental health problem, your opinions will never be valid again”.

He went on to say, “this means that people who have the most experience of the system cannot change the system.

“When I was about 14 I started getting very depressed and became paranoid and I’ve had to cope with these feelings ever since. Things became extremely difficult for my family after I tried to kill myself and as you can imagine, I wasn’t a very pleasant person to be around”

“Eventually, my mam took me to the local hospital to see one of the doctors there and he said he wanted me to go into hospital. They basically said to me I could either go voluntarily, or I could be sectioned for up to six months.”

Councillor Potts, who is a self employed financial trader and lives in West Boldon, spent the next few months in hospital, is backing a national campaign by mental health charity Rethink, to raise awareness of mental health issues with MPs. 

He said: “I am taking a big risk being so open about my mental health problems and there are things people can and I am sure will, say, it could also be the end of my politial ambitions, but if you go through something like this, you should be allowed to have your say.

“It’s essential that people who have experienced the system should be allowed to shape it”.

5 Responses to “councillor’s mental health problems put to good use”


  1. 1 outside looking inn.
    25/07/2009 at 11:54

    Mr Monkey

    I think Cllr Potts is useing this storey as a political tool to get votes from
    the people who live in his ward.

    He needs to fight for the people in south tyneside who have Mental Health Problems
    Not just MP`s who just want to be a MP for the money like himself….

  2. 2 town hall charlie
    25/07/2009 at 14:13

    mental health problems are obviously distresing. The atitude to menatlly ill people does need to be changed – many people suffer.
    I agree with outside looking in though.
    The duty of a councilor is to fight the corner of the constituents – not to try to manipulate for his own future plans.
    MP indeed. In your dreams Pottsy.

  3. 3 Conserned South Tynesider
    27/07/2009 at 10:17

    I may not know to much about politics but to be fair mental or not, you can see that this joker looks a bit dim, alot like some of the other town hall free loaders. I cant believe people like him get a look in the town hall, never mind become councillors.

  4. 4 Tory Hater
    03/12/2009 at 23:14

    He must have mental problems being a TORY!!

  5. 06/07/2010 at 13:00

    i agree with the top one, outside looking in, however give him a chance dont be hypocrits.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

